Travel Update

The time now is 1:26:34 am. I am sooo tried. But the packing must continue. Hiho to the land of clothes.

The time now is 7:07:14 am. I am at Gate T07 at the one and only Hartsfield-Jackson Airport in Atlanta, Georgia. I am jamming to Michael Jackson, Allah yarhamu, and his catchy song – PYT (Pretty Young Thing). I am current deciding on if I should purchase an overly expensive scone or hold out until lunch. I need to decide soon because my flight to DC leaves at 8:20am and boarding should start in 20 min.

I must say my luggage is really trying my nerves. It was a serious struggle to get everything in ONE suitcase and ONE carry-on. I decided on bringing a bit tote bag with me as my “allotted purse”. Two words – bad idea. The weight is soo concentrated on those two skinny straps, it is nearly impossible to carry them without any sort of damage to your shoulder blades. So I am going to transfer everything in my tote bag to a backpack in hopes that the weight will be more evenly distributed on my shoulders and back.

In addition to my carry-on bags being a zillion pounds, my checked bag weighed in at a whopping 55lbs. Not bad since I packed my life as I know it in that thing. The allotted weight is 50lbs. I didn’t get charged over because the guy at Delta’s check in counter was convinced that my mom was going to tip him. When we first pulled up to the kiosk, he asked if we wanted “priority check-in” or “regular”. I looked at him, and asked what the difference between them was. He sketchly mentioned that the “priority” option involved quicker check in time plus the payment of an additional tip. Hmmm. Okay. After my bags weighed in 55lb, my mom and I looked at each other to see if there was a possibility I would be charged a $75 overage fee….Lo and behold, the check-in attendant did not say anything. So neither did we. When we wiped the sweat from our foreheads, and bidding one another adieu, a voice called to us, “don’t forget about me now”…

Ohh, gotta go boarding has started!

2 thoughts on “Travel Update

Leave a Reply

